There are 75 Counties in the State of Arkansas which vary from the rich Delta farmlands of the Mississippi River valley to the rolling hills and gently sloped mountains of the Ozarks and Ouachitas are profiled in these pages. The counties are governmental slices of the same pie, all part of the state of Arkansas but separately governed at the local level. Each county has a county judge, who is the chief executive officer of the county, as well as several other countywide office holders including a quorum court (legislative body) made up of justices of the peace elected from single-member districts.

Click the text links below to navigate through the counties.


Page 1:

Arkansas County




Ashley County




Baxter County


Benton County


Boone County


Bradley County


Calhoun County


Carroll County


Chicot County


Clark County


Clay County


Cleburne County


Cleveland County


Columbia County


Conway County



Page 2:

Craighead County




Crawford County




Crittenden County


Cross County


Dallas County


Desha County


Drew County


Faulkner County


Franklin County


Fulton County


Garland County


Grant County


Greene County


Hempstead County


Hot Spring County



Page 3:

Howard County




Independence County




Izard County


Jackson County


Jefferson County


Johnson County


Lafayette County


Lawrence County


Lee County


Lincoln County


Little River County


Logan County


Lonoke County


Madison County


Marion County



Page 4:

Miller County




Mississippi County




Monroe County


Montgomery County


Nevada County


Newton County


Ouachita County


Perry County


Phillips County


Pike County


Poinsett County


Polk County


Pope County


Prairie County


Pulaski County



Page 5:

Randolph County




Saline County




Scott County


Searcy County


Sebastian County


Sevier County


Sharp County


St. Francis County


Stone County


Union County


Van Buren County


Washington County


White County


Woodruff County


Yell County



The History of the Association of Arkansas Counties

The Association of Arkansas Counties was founded in 1968. The first President was A.A. "Shug" Banks, Mississippi County Judge. Membership started out very slowly, but over the years, Association of Arkansas Counties membership of Arkansas Counties has been 100% since 1988. Dues are voluntary and are based on 1% of the County's General Turnback.

The Association originally rented office space across the street from the State Capitol with four full-time employees. In 1979, Association of Arkansas Counties bought property down the street, one block from the Capitol, and built a 3600 square foot office building. Construction and renovation began in 1996 to expand the present headquarters and now the Association occupies over 13000 square feet with meeting space for 250 and currently has thirteen full-time employees.

In 1985, Association of Arkansas Counties added a Workers' Compensation Trust for counties and in 1986 a Risk Management Fund. Both programs are immensely popular with the counties of Arkansas and completely self-funded and self-administered. AAC also endorses a Drug Testing Program for county Commercial Drivers' License holders and a Health and Hospitalization Program for county employees.

The Executive Director of AAC is Brenda Pruitt. Ms. Pruitt came to us from White County. She was appointed Executive Director in January of 2001. Prior to becoming executive director, Ms. Pruitt was the Manager of AAC Risk Management Services.

(All information is from the Association of Arkansas Counties)

Links around the website:


Terms of sales

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado
Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii
Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky
Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota
Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire
New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio
Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota
Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington
West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming Alberta British Columbia Manitoba
Newfoundland New Brunswick Nova Scotia Ontario Prince Edward Island Québec
Saskatchewan NW Territories Nunavut Yukon    

Questions? Place an order?  email to: "BPRPL8S@PEOPLEPC.COM"




This page was last updated 12/28/10